Orange Crushed

Hello everyone!

I hope you are doing well and had terrific weekends.

It has been a hot minute since I last posted a message in the Haven, but here we are again!

To be honest, with everything that has been going on in the world, I struggled to find a topic that didn’t come across as some peevish nerd in some corner of the Internet complaining about his lot in life. People are becoming sick at alarming rates. The death toll from COVID-19 related illnesses is still climbing. Hope for a pandemic-free world is fading.

broken-216728I could have written about how heartbroken I am over the fact that Unbound pulled Sanzaru Killer’s funding campaign. Sanzaru Killer is possibly the best thing I have ever written and now its fate is in limbo. I tried submitting to other publishers and literary agencies but a person can only take so many rejections before they begin to struggle to be positive. Or at least this person. However, folks are being murdered by the very organization that is suppose to serve and protect. There are bigger problems in the world than my book not being published. Which it should…I’m just saying.

I thought about posting my experience with an online learning resource called Skillcrush. I completed their UX Design course and loved it. Honestly, if you want to augment your skillset with some computer programming knowledge or design or digital marketing or UX design check them out. Skillcrush is not free but it is a very good value and the community is amazing. However, the course hasn’t translated into a job offer…or even an interview. And with most countries caught in the grip of staggering unemployment, and a whole lot of folks worried about if they are going to be homeless in the near future, I didn’t want to come across as a snake oil salesman promising rain where none is to be had.

So here we are, dear readers, at an all too familiar point in one of my posts. You know…the one where you find yourself asking, ‘What the hell is he going on about?’

And as always, you ask excellent questions.

Original Short Stories.

once-upon-a-time-719174_1920What I am going to bring to Skid Rogue Haven are short stories. I will try to make them a weekly affair but it might be a more like every 10 days or so. I have a list of story ideas and I want to do something that is fun. A way to distract you – for a few minutes anyway – from all the craziness going on in the world.

I’ll post my first one tomorrow! So keep a weathered eye turned toward the Haven.

Book Reviews

bible-1869164_1920Something else I would like to bring to this site are book reviews. To clarify – because I do review books on here (or have done in the past) – I would like to extend an invitation to fledging writers who have written a novel and want to reach a wider audience. I want to be a part of helping you achieve that goal.

Okay, this might not be entirely true. I have some pretty specific criteria for the type of books I am willing to read and review. You can find those criteria on the Skid Rogue Haven’s Book Review page. If you think your book is a match for what I like to read, you can contact me via the form on the Submissions page. If I agree to read it, I will review it here, Goodreads and Amazon (or other bookseller’s site). Sound fair? I knew you would agree.

That’s it for today!

Thank you reading along and have a great day!

Kev

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑